D.C. Metro’s Silver Line

The Washington D.C. Metro’s new Silver Line will link D.C. to Dulles International Airport, Tysons Corner, Reston and Herndon. The current plan is to construct a rail from Route 772 in Loudoun County to the Stadium-Armory metro stop — this metro stop services RFK Stadium. Overall, the line will service 29 stations, and 18 of those stations are currently part of the Orange and Blue lines. The East Falls Church stop will serve as the transfer point for the Orange and Silver lines, and 11 new stations will be constructed between the transfer point and Route 772.

The method of construction through the Tysons Corner area has generated much debate — tunnel vs. above ground. In the end, plans were made to build elevated rail above ground because estimates for the tunnel construction were considered “too high.” The full line is expected to be completed by 2015.


    Leave a Reply

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

    WordPress.com Logo

    You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


    Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: