Waynesboro Native Escapes Shooting Rampage

Yesterday I saw an interview with one of the students that jumped from the second floor of Norris Hall. The student looked very familiar, but I couldn’t match a name with his face. I searched the local papers and blogs for information pertaining to this student, and I found this post on the New Dominion.

Alec Calhoun, a junior from Waynesboro, was in his mechanics class during the second shooting. He and his classmates heard gunshots from other classrooms, and many of them decided to jump from the windows. The professor stayed behind to block the door. Minutes later, the professor was shot. Calhoun was the last student to make the jump.

Liviu Librescu was the professor that stayed behind to block the door. Librescu was a Holocaust survivor and an internationally renown aeronautical engineer.

I do not know Alec Calhoun personally, but I can remember seeing him at the Shenandoah Valley Governor’s School. He was a year behind me, so I didn’t have any classes with him. However, we often shared the same computer labs.

    Leave a Reply

