Trail Time


Well, it’s time for me to hit the trail. For those of you unfamiliar with my plans, I will be hiking 150 miles of the Appalachian Trail with my younger brother Andrew. We will start in Catawba near Salem, VA, the place where he left off, and trek towards Rockfish Gap in Waynesboro.

What am I brining? Not a lot. Here’s a list.
Backpack, three shirts, three pairs of socks, my Nike Shox, three pairs of boxers, pants that have zippers so they can become shorts, a fleece, a light sleeping bag, sleeping pad, bandana, a camelback water hydration pouch, a nalgene bottle, a spork, a pocket flashlight, sunglasses, iodine drops for water, cell phone, cell phone charger, zip lock bags, and an assortment of freeze-dried food (milk, cereal, mashed potatoes).

I am very excited to begin my journey, but I realize the trail will be physically and mentally demanding. Nonetheless, I am determined to complete this adventure.

So, I’m off! Bring on the mountains, blisters, thunderstorms, bumble bees, snakes, mud, sweat, blood, and freeze dried food.

  1. finnegan

    Best of luck!

  2. Anonymous

    I bet your girl is gonna miss ya…




Leave a Reply

