I’m Back in the Saddle Again

I’m back! Miss me? Now, I know what most of you are thinking right now. “Hey, it’s Sunday, did you really hike 150 miles in 5 days?” The answer is NO. I was only able to hike a little more than 40 miles of the Appalachian Trail. The grueling trek dominated me mentally and physically. My 25 pound pack, the uneven terrain, the 4,000 ft. mountains, and the tasteless dehydrated food rocked my world, and I couldn’t handle any more of it.

Do I consider my trip a failure? No way. I got some much needed exercise, had a chance to take a break from work, and I was able to gather my thoughts. Most importantly I gained an appreciation for the feat that my little brother recently accomplished. He hiked 700 miles from Springer Mountain in Georgia to Catawba, Virginia. Everyday for two months he climbed treacherous mountains, ate disgusting food, and slept in bug-invested shelters while carrying a 25 pound pack and wearing Waldies. Truly amazing.

  1. Anonymous

    I bet your girlfriend was glad to hear you were back a little early.




Leave a Reply

