A Comment on My NBA Mock Draft

A lovely reader left this wonderful comment this morning.

“Is this the only think you’ve got to do–posting an NBA Mock Draft? That and the stupid picture, whatever you’re trying to imply, is simply a waste of time and a fraud. If you’ve got all the education you CLAIM, you should be spending your free time helping at a homeless shelter or a soup line or some relgion-based social service organization!! Instead of pissing people off grow up and do some good for the world–quit thinking of yourself/you narcissist!”

Wow. I’m glad that I elicited a response from a reader, but I wasn’t expecting such a response on an NBA Mock Draft — I didn’t know they were so controversial.

To clarify his comments about the “stupid picture,” I had posted a popular picture of Greg Oden dancing with a coed at an Ohio State party. This picture may have been offensive, so I will admit that I changed it to a “politically correct” picture of Kevin Durant covering his head with a basketball net.

“If you’ve got all the education you CLAIM, you should be spending your free time helping at a homeless shelter or a soup line or some relgion-based social service organization!!”

I suppose the reader didn’t browse through the contents of my blog. In the past I’ve used my blog to raise awareness on local events and issues that local residents might find pertinent (e.g. energy saving tips, historic preservation ideas, local recreational activities). I do like to write posts concerning professional athletics, but I do so because it’s fun and harmless. Also, during the day I work for a non-profit environmental organization on pollutant modeling and K-12 education. So I like to think that I do some good for the world, but I don’t want to pat myself on the back and be narcissistic.

For those unfamiliar with what a narcissist is, a narcissist is a person with an inordinate fascination with oneself. I guess the reader thought that I was using my NBA Mock Draft to glorify myself and my amazing NBA mock draft skills — I guess I shouldn’t have predicted that I would be the #1 pick.

    Leave a Reply

