Talking the Talk & Walking the Walk

After months of talking about public transit and cycling, I finally bought a bike. I’ve been car free for 3 months, and hopefully my new bike (actually it’s a used bike — hooray recycling!) will make personal travel a lot easier.

The bike is one of the many small steps I’m making towards “going green.

  • I take the stairs everywhere I go
  • I unplug appliances that are not in use
  • I turn off the lights when I leave the room
  • I turn off my computer, speakers, and monitor whenever they’re not in use
  • I open my blinds and use natural light during the day for visibility
  • I shop at local businesses and restaurants
  • I support local farms
  • I buy used clothes at thrift stores

I know my carbon footprint is still rather large, but you have to start somewhere.

    Leave a Reply

