New Year’s Resolutions Revisited

It’s been about a month and a half since I made my New Year’s resolutions, and I want to go back and evaluate my progress for 2008.

  • Eat healthier – I’m drinking more water, and I’ve made a concerted effort to adopt a healthier diet. I’ve been eating more salad, yogurt, and vegetables (carrots, green beans, and peas), and I’ve even switched to whole wheat bread. The only thing holding me back is a beer here and there…
  • Bike more – I’m actually biking less in 2008. I don’t like the feeling of the cold wind across my face when I bike, so I’ve been walking every where.
  • Drive less – That’s not a problem. I haven’t driven my car in about a month, and I have no plans to use it in the near future.
  • Use public transportation – I took the trolley downtown a couple of weeks ago, but I don’t normally use Charlottesville’s bus service (I walk everywhere). However, whenever I’m in Washington DC I always use the Metro and/or Circulator.
  • Watch less television – I have my staples (UNC & UVA Basketball, The Wire, & English Premier League Soccer). If I watch anything else it’s usually the local news or ESPNnews.
  • Read more books – I’m reading everyday, but I’m not reading materials that I necessarily want to read. Every class this semester has provided me with lot of reading assignments.
  • Blog everyday – On average I post about 6 times every week, so I’m not actually blogging every day, but I’m close.
  • Exercise regularly – When the semester started I was running 30 minutes a day on the treadmill. Unfortunately my workout schedule has tapered off because of the workload increase.
  • Take more pictures – Hhhhmmmm. Maybe next year. I never remember to take my camera with me when I go places.
  • Donate unused items – Not yet. I’m waiting for Spring cleaning.
  • Conserve energy – I’ve kept the thermostat low, I’m taking shorter showers, I use the stairs instead of the elevator in my apartment, and I turn my computers off every night before bed. However, I’m sure the treadmill I’ve been exercising on has used a lot of electricity.

Overall, I’d say that I’ve done pretty well with my New Year’s resolutions. Grade: B

    Leave a Reply

