Staunton’s New Logo 3.0

On August 28 and February 21 I wrote about the City of Staunton’s new logo. Last summer the City hired the South Carolina planning firm Arnett Muldrow & Associates to design a logo they could use to promote city life and events. The logo is maroon, gold, and yellow, and it emphasizes the “U” in Staunton. I’m happy to report that the City is actually using the new logo to promote historical attractions, businesses, and local events. In fact, the City is pairing the logo with the slogan “As U like it.”

The main issue I have with the logo is that it is something that they could’ve gotten local high school or college students to design for FREE. Furthermore, the City could’ve had an open design competition for the new logo. The competition would’ve sparked more interested in the logo, it wouldn’t have cost the City any money, and it would’ve made the logo more organic.

  1. Erin B.

    I kind of dig the logo, myself. Like you, I’m glad to see the tourism department and SDDA incorporating it into some of their online marketing, etc.

    I’m not totally sure I agree with you that the city could have gotten high school or college students to design it, or sponsored a competition … sometimes in those cases, you end up with something undesirable just because it was the best of a bunch of bad options. At least when you hire a firm, you get input and revisions, blah blah.

    Anyhow, I’m on board with it and I’m glad to see it getting some use.




Leave a Reply

